The Unforgettable Journey…………….

Trivial incidents could make any journey memorable, so was this one, however, the incident making this Journey memorable couldn’t be termed as trivial.

So here I was travelling by train in this almost new city for me, Kolkata. It was early days of winter, the period of a year when you could actually say “Winter is Coming”. I missed the train which I was supposed to take, so I got on to the next one. Peacefully sitting by the window side and carelessly glaring at the sceneries. I was comfortable and the journey was smooth. This ephemeral peace was put to an end by a boy. A boy in his school uniform aged between 5 and 8. Seems harmless, right ?

This boy with sheer innocence in his eyes, on his way to school, he was selling ” CHIKKI” ( a crunchy sweet made from peanuts and jaggery ) in the train. Screaming “Tina éka” ( Bengali of “three rupees for one piece”) at his loudest but with a feeble voice, managing to draw the attention of at least 3-4 passengers  at a time. He just stole all the peace, leaving me restless. While I was still recovering, I overheard a lady. She said a lot of things in Bengali but from what I understood I think she said: ” Everyday this poor child travels by this train and sells chikkis to help his economically poor family and still goes to school.” . Listening this made me even more restless, I took out a ₹20 note and bought 6 of his chikkis. And that’s all I could have done. He just went on…..then I saw him getting off the train at next station.

peanut_chikki

I was aghast, I couldn’t think of anything else the whole day. I had many questions many of which were answered by his innocent but doleful eyes. But the unanswered questions didn’t let me be at peace.

So I ended up taking a decision. The next day I took the same train but this time instead of buying chikkis, I gave him a box of each pencil, sharpeners and erasers. Again he said a lot of things in Bengali which was too much for me to understand but his eyes twinkling like stars and his smile sparkling like crescent moon expressed everything.

happy-children-going-to-school-water-color-sketch-paiting-india-31467373

Since that day, I take deliberately miss my scheduled train and take this train get on to the very same coach and buy 3 chikkis from him, and we exchange a smile which makes my day.

This won’t make a lot of difference but I’m happy doing this.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lilly Moore says:

    This is really beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. potpourri672 says:

      Thanks a lot
      Means a lot

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

